Stand Still and See the Salvation of the Lord!

The Bible says that the children of Israel left Egypt “with boldness”.  But Pharoah’s heart had already hardened again.  He was already in pursuit of them, but they were unaware of it at the time (Exod 14:1-8).   The same is true when we turn from our wicked ways, get delivered from an addiction or decide to finally heed the call of God on our lives.  We start with boldness, but our adversary the devil will not let you off so easily… He will pursue you with a vengeance and use every tactic to steal your victory, kill your dreams and destroy your witness!   Pharoah and his army pursued them with all their might – with an army of horsemen and chariots.  As they drew near, the Bible says, “the children of Israel lifted their eyes, and behold, the Egyptians marched after them.  So they were very afraid…”  Their fear turned to remorse and they grumbled at Moses proclaiming that “it would have been better for us to serve the Egyptians than die in the wilderness.”  In modern-day terms, that’s the same thing we hear when people get touched by the Lord but at the first sign of opposition go back to their addiction, abusive relationship or the “friends” that sent them on the path to destruction!  But Moses offered this wisdom- “Stand still and see the salvation of the Lord!” (14:11-13).  Stand still.  That’s the wisdom Saul failed to heed from Samuel that cost him the kingdom. (1 Sam 9:27; 12:7).  It’s the same wisdom Moses offered two men in the camp on a matter they needed counsel on (Numb 9:8).  It’s the same wisdom Jehoshaphat told the people right before a great battle that the Lord fought victoriously for them in 2 Chron 20:17.  It’s the same wisdom the Lord gave Job in the midst of his trials (Job 37:14).  And it’s the best wisdom I can offer you today.  Stand firm.  And stand still.  He will deliver!  Be encouraged!  Kimberly

Scripture of the Day – “Be still and know that I am God.”  Psalm 46:10

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 10:15:10

    Amen. And the most beautiful aspect of these events is tht God purposed and permitted it all..to further reveal His power of deliverance to His children..Israel.

    Ro 9:17 For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might show my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

    Had God not allowed Israel’s captivity in Egypt…They would not have seen God’s power through Moses in turning water to blood, in turning a rod to a serpent, in pronouncing plagues against the wicked, in delivering the righteous on dry ground of the Red Sea, in witnessing the destruction of the wicked by the same waters, in manna rained down from Heaven in the wilderness, and in seeing the fulfillment of the Promised Land for the Faithful. Oh..wow. God does not promise we won’t have Katrinas. He promises that we will ‘overcome’. To Him be the glory for His abundant mercies.

    I’ve never been to New Orleans. But all the people who remained there after Katrina..and all those who were scattered to other places…were..and are..continually in my heart. God is, indeed, SUFFICIENT!

    Carolyn

    internetelias.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. Talapia
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 12:53:12

    It’s also what you do in “your wait.” Even to stand still is a battle, because you become anxious. Anxious to move forward or in some cases turn back. You have to continue, in your wait, to remind yourself how you got where you are. Remind yourself of the “crying times;” the times you beg the Lord to “please help me!” Remind yourself that what you left was not good for you. Remind yourself to not be afraid of what’s to come.

    You must trust in the Lord, but also align yourself with believers, who will help you stay focus. In your wait, you have to change your thoughts. Read the bible, seek God’s word & direction.

    In your wait, you have to change friends or bring them with you. You might not be strong enough right now. In your temptations, God will not suffer you with more than you can bear, but he will also provide a way for you to escape.(paraphrase ICor10:13)

    When you look at the life you left behind, friends look like they are still having a great time & encourage you to “come back” & have a great time (party) too. You think that your life now is going to be like the “church lady!” You ask yourself, “why me Lord,” why haven’t you touched them too? Cause you are the chosen one. God chose you. See it as a blessing & not a curse. Cause if you do not say Yes to where God is taking you, he will choose someone else.

    You may not get another chance or you may fall back with the “party people” and endanger yourself and/or your love ones. To be “chosen” is a constant battle, fight. What do you do in “your wait?” Be still & listen, be patient, Surrender, be humble, release, Pray constantly & Don’t look back!!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • Kimberly D. Williamson
      Feb 04, 2010 @ 17:54:15

      Amen. Amen! AMEN!!! So true! Stay strong my sister! God has brought you a mighty long way. He has great things in store for you! I’m glad he brought you into my life! Thanks for your support!

      Reply

    • Amy
      Sep 18, 2011 @ 20:29:47

      Thank you Talapia for a very concrete answer on what to do IN/DURING the wait, that was very helpful and I’m re-reading it a few times.

      Reply

  3. Neijha Luke
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 14:36:36

    Thank you Minister Kimberly for this lesson. The title is one of my favorite scriptures and one of the lessons the Lord has just recently taught me.I was becoming anxious about being unemployed for a year now, yet I know that God does not want me to move at this time and I am fully aware of the reasons why.He has me busy working for Him. Eventhough the Lord has made sure that I have been provided for the whole time, I was dwelling on the financial independence lost and the so call feeling of worthiness. The Lord rebuked me and instructed me to stop crying about my lost job, let it go, focus on working for him, and that I need to stay still at this time. He also used my son and this lesson to confirm this for me. I know now that it is better if I wait on the Lord, because doing otherwise will be a big mistake. I am tired of wandering through the wilderness. I am ready to enter the promise land and that requires my obedience. Thanks for this post. This lesson is instrumental in leading me to victory!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • Kimberly D. Williamson
      Feb 04, 2010 @ 17:46:57

      Neijha, thank you for your thoughtful feedback! Last year I walked by faith like never before, with the Lord sustaining me an entire year on my book sales alone. I learned so much, but more than anything I learned to trust Him. God is faithful. I’m so happy the words inspired you. Please be sure to subscribe if you haven’t already (just put your email in the box at the bottom of the homepage). It’s free and you’ll get the devotions sent to you as soon as they’re posted. God bless you!

      Reply

  4. Freda Leach
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 06:16:03

    Hi,I found this site.I have enjoy reading the scriptures and comments.I was reminded of the scripture psalm 46-10.Aman.I have been fired from my job for sharing about God love.I have never been in any trouble before.I have been a nurse for 21 years.I actually was lied on from another christian.Due to her feeling that I had seen something out of her.I never seen anything.I still trust the Lord.God Bless.Freda

    Reply

  5. Amy
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 20:27:08

    This is amazing…Today during praise and worship the Lord spoke two things to me over and over again. First was “Stand still and see the salvation of the Lord.” It was an awesome church and worship service and we worshipped at the end of church too. We just really praised and worshipped up front loudly and for victory and deliverance! Well, the Lord did a mighty thing in me and I received a mighty deliverance today!
    Fast forward to tonight: I asked my husband if that was a verse in the bible-what the Lord had spoken to me, so he looked on his phone and your website was the first one that came up. I read it and it so spoke to me, but not only that, the SECOND thing the Lord had spoken to me during worship was the verse at the very bottom of your post: “Be still and KNOW that I am God”! It was total confirmation that it was God speaking to my heart.
    I’m still trying to figure out what exactly all this means but your website and comments helped.
    Just thought you should know God used you in a mighty way tonight, bless you!!

    Reply

  6. Jacqueline Long
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 07:57:35

    Hi, I know that it was not by chance that I found this site. God spoke this to me doing a great time of need. I have been pondering it in my heart since then and I have really experienced the salvation of the Lord in many areas. I was laid of from my job of 23 years in February. I had already been called into ministry, and shortly after the lay off I preached my initial sermon. I wanted to go back to work, but now I know that God is molding and making me what he desires me to be. I continue to trust Him, Study, and wait patiently for the next move of God in my life.
    Jacqueline Long

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

